Annual General Meeting Minutes

Date: 09/12/2018
Time: 7pm
Location: UQ



Brisbane Girls Debating Association

Find all AGM documents at: https://tinvurl.com/bgda2019agm

Standard Matters

Meeting opened at 7:27pm in UQ Law

Attendance

1. In attendance was: Georgia Kinneally Emily Leggett, Sophie Watson, Sophie Cunningham, Simone Laidlaw, Bella Busby, Sarah Cameron, Thomas Choo and Cormac Moriarty (in person). Alice Leggett (Via Video Call)

Elect Chair/RO

2. Electing an RO - Emily Leggett moved to elect Cormac as Chair and RO Alice seconded

All attendees approve except Tom, who abstained.

Announcement Of Quorum

3. The Chairperson (RO - Cormac Moriarty) announced quorum is present at 7:30pm.

Confirmation Of 2017 AGM Minutes

2. The 2017 Annual General Meeting minutes will be confirmed.

Reports

- 3. Emily Leggett moves to accept report of the President, Katie Cockburn. Seconded by Georgia Kinneally and passed unanimously with Thomas Choo, Cormac Moriarty and Alice Leggett abstaining.
- 4. Emily Leggett moves to accept report of the Secretary, Georgia Kinneally. Seconded by Georgia Kinneally and passed unanimously with Thomas Choo, Cormac Moriarty and Alice Leggett abstaining.
- 5. Emily Leggett moves to accept report of the Treasurer, Sophie Watson. Seconded by Georgia Kinneally and passed unanimously with Thomas Choo, Cormac Moriarty and Alice Leggett abstaining.
- 6. Emily Leggett moves to accept report of the Sponsorship Officer, Sophie Cunningham. Seconded by Georgia Kinneally and passed unanimously with Thomas Choo, Cormac Moriarty and Alice Leggett abstaining.
- 7. Emily Leggett moves to accept report of the Schools' Officer, Emily Leggett. Seconded by Georgia Kinneally and passed unanimously with Thomas Choo, Cormac Moriarty and Alice

Leggett abstaining.

- 8. Emily Leggett moves to accept report of the Competition Officer, Bella Busby. Seconded by Georgia Kinneally and passed unanimously with Thomas Choo, Cormac Moriarty and Alice Leggett abstaining.
- 9. Emily Leggett moves to accept report of the Adjudicators' Officer, Connor Cashman. Seconded by Georgia Kinneally and passed unanimously with Thomas Choo, Cormac Moriarty and Alice Leggett abstaining.
- 10. Emily Leggett moves to accept report of the Schools' Liaison Officer, Anne Byrne. Seconded by Georgia Kinneally and passed unanimously with Thomas Choo, Cormac Moriarty and Alice Leggett abstaining.

Confirmation Of Validity Of 2017-2018 Financial Records

11. The President, in her absence, and the Treasurer verified that: "The association keeps financial records in a way which properly records the association's income and expenditure and dealings with its assets and liabilities."

Cormac Moriarity, Chair, motioned to accept this confirmation. Passed unanimously. Alice abstained.

Confirmation Of 2017-2018 Child Protection Policy and Public Liability Insurance

12. The President, in her absence, verified that: "The association keeps records of child protection policy and public liability insurance in a way which properly records the association's values and policies as well as transactions with the public liability office."

Noted in her absence.

Opening Of Positions And Election Of 2018–2019 Executive

Vacancies

13. Chair declares all positions open

Election of President

Emily Leggett was nominated by Sophie Watson. Bella Busby Seconded. Emily Leggett Accepted.

Chair declared Emily Leggett BGDA President in uncontested election.

Election of Secretary

Bella Busby was nominated by Sophie Cunningham. Emily Leggett Seconded. Bella Busby Accepted.

Chair declared Bella Busby BGDA Secretary in uncontested election.

Election of Treasurer

Sophie Watson was nominated by Bella Busby. Sarah Cameron Seconded. Sophie Watson Accepted.

Chair declared Sophie Watson BGDA Treasurer in uncontested election.

Election of Competitions' Officer

Sophie Cunningham was nominated by Bella Busby. Sarah Cameron Seconded. Sophie Cunningham Accepted.

Chair declared Sophie Cunningham BGDA Competitions' Officer in uncontested election.

Election of Adjudicators' Officer

Simone Laidlaw was nominated by Sarah Cameron. Sophie Cunningham Seconded. Simone Laidlaw Accepted.

Chair declared Simone Laidlaw BGDA Adjudicators' Officer in uncontested election.

Election of Schools Officer

Sarah Cameron was nominated by Georgia Kinneally. Sophie Watson Seconded. Sarah Cameron Accepted.

Chair declared Sarah Cameron BGDA Schools Officer in uncontested election.

Election of Sponsorship Officer

Maeve Lu was nominated by Emily Leggett. Sophie Cunningham Seconded. Maeve Lu Accepted via proxy via email.

Chair declared Maeve Lu BGDA Sponsorship Officer in uncontested election.

Election of Schools' Liaison Officer

Anne Byrne was nominated by Bella Busby. Emily Leggett Seconded. Anne Byrne Accepted via proxy.

Chair declared Anne Byrne BGDA Schools Liaison Officer in uncontested election.

Other Business And Adjournment

- 9. Calls for any further business.
- 10. Motion to Close meeting at 7:49pm. Accepted and Adjournment of Meeting at 7:49pm.