

Brisbane Girls Debating Association Annual General Meeting Minutes

Date: 21 September 2022 Time: 6:30 pm

Location: University of Queensland and by Zoom

All AGM materials can be accessed <u>here</u>

Standard Matters

Attendance

1. In attendance were: Emily Leggett, Lara Pruim, Eva Seet, Georgia Perissinotto, Mikayla O'Flynn, Emmett Hanley, Molly McCann, Trish Le, George Steel, Neha Pauly, Patrick Harten, Anne Byrne, Luke Ames.

Announcement Of Quorum

2. The Chairperson announced quorum is present at 6:32 pm.

Confirmation Of 2021 AGM Minutes

3. Motion to confirm the 2021 Annual General Meeting minutes was proposed by Emily Leggett, seconded by George Steel and approved by Lara Pruim, Georgia Perissinotto, Mikayla O'Flynn, and Eva Seet.

Emmett Hanley, Molly McCann, Luke Ames, Neha Pauly, Patrick Harten, Trish Le and Anne Byrne abstained.

The minutes were confirmed.

Confirmation Of 2022 SGM Minutes

4. Motion to confirm the 2022 Special General Meeting on 14 March 2022 minutes was proposed by Emily Leggett, seconded by Eva Seet and approved by Mikayla O'Flynn, Georgia Perissinotto, Trish Le, George Steel, Lara Pruim, Neha Pauly

Molly McCann, Luke Ames, Patrick Harten, Anne Byrne and Emmett Hanley abstained.

The minutes were confirmed.

Reports

- 5. The Executive from 2020-21 each tabled a written report which provided a brief oral report and the opportunity for the general members to ask questions of them and their reports. Each of the reports were presented by the following people:
 - a. The President, Emily Leggett;
 - b. The Secretary, Georgia Perissinotto;

- c. The Treasurer, George Steel;
- d. The Schools' Officer, Mikayla O'Flynn;
- e. The Competition Officer, Arathy Thirukumar;
- f. The Adjudicators' Officer, Eva Seet
- g. The Training Officer, Lara Pruim
- h. The Sponsorship Officer, Neha Pauly
- i. The Teachers' Liaison Officer, Anne Byrne
- j. The Social Media Officer (Non-Executive Role), Trish Le
- 6. Georgia Perissinotto moves to accept the report of the President, Emily Leggett. Seconded by Mikayla O'Flynn and passed unanimously.
- 7. Emily Leggett moves to accept the report of the Secretary, Georgia Perissinotto. Seconded by Lara Pruim and passed unanimously.
- 8. Emily Leggett moves to accept the report of the Treasurer, George Steel. Seconded by Neha Pauly and passed unanimously.
- 9. Georgia Perissinotto moves to accept the report of the Schools' Officer, Mikayla O'Flynn. Seconded by Lara Pruim and passed unanimously.
- 10. Emily Leggett moves to accept the report of the Competition Officer, Arathy Thirukumar which was tabled in her absence. Seconded by Georgia Perissinotto and passed unanimously.
- 11. Emily Leggett moves to accept the report of the Adjudicators' Officer, Eva Seet. Seconded by Neha Pauly and passed unanimously.
- 12. Georgia Perissinotto moves to accept the report of the Training Officer, Lara Pruim. Seconded by Trish Le and passed unanimously.
- 13. Emily Leggett moves to accept the report of the Sponsorship Officer, Neha Pauly. Seconded by Eva Seet and passed unanimously.
- 14. Emily Leggett moves to accept the report of the Teachers' Liaison Officer, Anne Byrne. Seconded by Emmett Hanley and passed unanimously.
- 15. Emily Leggett moves to accept the report of the Social Media Officer, Trish Le. Seconded by Georgia Perissinotto and passed unanimously.

Confirmation Of Validity Of 2021-22 Financial Records

16. NOTED that the President and Treasurer verified that: "The association keeps financial records in a way which properly records the association's income and expenditure and dealings with its assets and liabilities."

Confirmation Of 2021–22 Child Protection Policy and Public Liability Insurance

17. NOTED that the President verified that: "The association keeps records of child protection policy and public liability insurance in a way which properly records the association's values and policies as well as transactions with the public liability office."

Opening Of Positions And Election Of 2021–2022 Executive

Elect Chair/Returning Officer

18. Georgia Perissinotto moved to elect Emily Leggett as Chair and Returning Officer Seconded by Mikayla O'Flynn. Approved unanimously.

Vacancies

19. The Returning Officer, Emily Leggett declared all positions vacant.

Roles to Open

- 20. RESOLVED to open nominations for the below positions. Motioned by Emily Leggett. Seconded by Lara Pruim. Passed unanimously.
 - a. President:
 - b. Secretary;
 - c. Treasurer;
 - d. Schools Officer;
 - e. Competitions Officer;
 - f. Sponsorship Officer;
 - g. Schools' Liaison Officer;
 - h. Adjudicators' Officer; and
 - i. Training Officer.

Election of President

21. Emily Leggett nominated Georgia Perissinotto as President. Seconded by Mikayla O'Flynn. Elected uncontested.

Election of Treasurer

22. Eva Seet nominated George Steel as Treasurer. Seconded by Trish Le. Elected uncontested.

Election of Secretary

23. Georgia Perissinotto nominated Mikayla O'Flynn as Secretary. Seconded by Emily Leggett. Elected uncontested.

Election of Schools Officer

24. Mikayla nominated Emmett Hanley as Schools Officer. Seconded by Georgia Perissinotto. Elected uncontested.

Sponsorship Officer

25. Georgia Perissinotto nominated Molly Mccann as Sponsorship Officer. Seconded by Emily Leggett. Elected uncontested.

Election of Adjudicators' Officer

26. Eva Seet nominated Trish Le as Adjudicators' Officer. Seconded by George Steel. Elected uncontested.

Election of Competitions' Officer

27. Trish Le nominated Eva Seet as Competitions' Officer. Seconded by Neha Pauly. Elected uncontested.

Election of Teachers' Liaison Officers

28. Emily Leggett nominated Anne Byrne as Schools Liaison Officer. Seconded by Georgia Perissinotto. Elected uncontested.

Training Officer

29. Georgia Perissinotto nominated Lara Pruim as Training Officer. Seconded by Emily Leggett. Elected uncontested.

Other Business And Adjournment

30. Meeting adjourned at 7:20pm.