

Brisbane Girls Debating Association Annual General Meeting Minutes

Date: 01/10/2020 Time: 7pm Held Over Zoom

All AGM materials can be accessed <u>here</u>

Standard Matters

Attendance

1. In attendance were: Emily Leggett, Bella Busby, Sophie Cunningham, Simone Laidlaw, Sarah Cameron, Maeve Lu, , Arathy Thirukumar, Grace Beattie, Caroline Hygate and Imogen Forster.

Announcement Of Quorum

2. The Chairperson announced quorum is present at 7:11

Confirmation Of 2019 AGM Minutes

3. Motion to confirm the 2019 Annual General Meeting minutes was proposed by Emily Leggett, seconded by Sarah Cameron and approved unanimously. The minutes were confirmed.

Reports

- 4. The Executive from 2019-2020 each tabled a written report which provided a brief oral report and the opportunity for the general members to ask questions of them and their reports. Each of the reports can be found here, and were presented by the following people:
 - a. The President, Emily Leggett;
 - b. The Secretary, Simone Laidlaw;
 - c. The Treasurer, Arathy Thirukumar;
 - d. The Sponsorship Officer, Maeve Lu;
 - e. The Schools' Development Officer, Georgia Perissinotto;
 - f. The Competition Officer, Sophie Cunningham;
 - g. The Adjudicators' Officer, Sarah Cameron; and

a. The Schools' Liaison Officer, Anne Byrne.

Georgia Perissinotto moves to accept the report of the President, Emily Leggett. Seconded by Bella Busby and passed unanimously.

Emily Leggett moves to accept the report of the Secretary, Simone Laidlaw. Seconded by Arathy Thirukumar and passed unanimously.

Emily Leggett moves to accept the report of the Treasurer, Arathy Thirukumar. Seconded by Sophie Cunningham and passed unanimously.

Emily Leggett moves to accept the report of the Sponsorship Officer, Maeve Lu. Seconded by Arathy Thirukumar and passed unanimously.

Emily Leggett moves to accept the report of the Schools' Development Officer, Georgia Perissinotto. Seconded by Arathy Thirukumar and passed unanimously.

Emily Leggett moves to accept the report of the Adjudicators' Officer, Sarah Cameron. Seconded by Georgia Perissinotto and passed unanimously.

Emily Leggett moves to accept the report of the Competition Officer, Sophie Cunningham. Seconded by Bella Busby and passed unanimously.

Confirmation Of Validity Of 2019-2020 Financial Records

5. The President and Treasurer verified that: "The association keeps financial records in a way which properly records the association's income and expenditure and dealings with its assets and liabilities."

Confirmation Of 2019–2020 Child Protection Policy and Public Liability Insurance

6. The President verified that: "The association keeps records of child protection policy and public liability insurance in a way which properly records the association's values and policies as well as transactions with the public liability office."

Opening Of Positions And Election Of 2020–2021 Executive

Elect Chair/Returning Officer

Emily Leggett moved to elect Simone Laidlaw as Chair and Returning Officer seconded.

Approved unanimously.

Vacancies

8. The Returning Officer, Simone Laidlaw, declared all positions vacant.

Election of President

9. Emily Leggett was nominated by Bella Busby, Seconded by Sophie Cunningham. Emily Leggett accepted.

Chair declared Emily Leggett BGDA President in an uncontested election.

Election of Secretary

10. Sophie Cunningham was nominated by Arathy Thirukumar, Seconded Emily Leggett. Sophie Cunningham accepted.

Chair declared Sophie Cunningham BGDA Secretary in an uncontested election.

Election of Treasurer

11. Arathy Thirukumar was nominated by Sophie Cunningham Seconded Georgia Perissinotto. Arathy Thirkukumar accepted.

Chair declared Arathy Thirukumar BGDA Treasurer in an uncontested election.

Election of Sponsorship Officer

12. Freya Allen was nominated by Emily Leggett Seconded Arathy Thirukumar. Freya Allen accepted via online message.

Chair declared Freya Allen BGDA Sponsorship Officer in an uncontested election.

Election of Competitions' Officer

13. Georgia Perissinotto was nominated by Sophie Cunningham Seconded Emily Leggett. Georgia Perissinotto accepted.

Chair declared Georgia Perissinotto BGDA Competitions Officer in an uncontested election.

Election of Schools Development Officer

- 14. Grace Beattie was nominated by Arathy Beattie Seconded Sophie Cunningham. Grace Beattie accepted.
- 15. Cara Rowe was nominated by Emily Leggett, Seconded Simone Laidlaw. Cara Rowe accepted via online message.

The meeting has voted in favour of Grace Beattie. Chair declared Grace Beattie BGDA Schools Development Officer.

Election of Adjudicators' Officer

16. Bella Busby was nominated by Emily Leggett Seconded. Bella Busby accepted.

Chair declared Bella Busby BGDA Adjudicators' Officer in an uncontested election.

Election of Schools' Liaison Officer

This role will be left vacant until there is a further expression of interest

Other Business And Adjournment

- 17. No further business.
- 18. Adjournment of Meeting at 8:19 pm.